COL Mast

National Awards

In addition to the program-specific advancements and recognitions, there are a number of national awards available for both youth members and adult leaders.

Silver BeaverThe Silver Beaver Award is the highest national award presented by a local council to individuals for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth. Each local council may present only a limited number of Silver Beavers each year, which makes this a very prestigious award for those whose record of service to youth is most outstanding!

Awards will be presented at the Annual Council Recognition Dinner.


  • The nominee for the award must be a registered volunteer Scouter within the Cradle of Liberty Council.
  • The nominee must be 21 years of age or older.
  • The nominee must have rendered noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth within the territory under the jurisdiction of the council.

This award is not given for service solely to a unit or district, nor is it given as recognition for tenure. Service at the council, regional, or national level is required; if there is no such service, the nomination will not be considered.


This nomination is confidential. To avoid possible disappointment, do not advise the nominee of your action on his/her behalf. The nomination form is available here. Nominations may mailed or delivered to:
Cradle of Liberty Council
1485 Valley Forge Road
Wayne, PA 19087
Attention: Joe Leiss, Silver Beaver Awards

Nominations may also be emailed to Joe Leiss.

Nominations must be received by noon on January 15, 2015.

There are numerous awards that can be earned by Scouts, Venturers, and adult Scouters.  Information on many of these awards can be found here.  Please note that some of these awards, such as Lifesaving and Meritorious Awards, Silver Beaver Award, and Venturing Leadership Awards, are selected by or require action by the Council Advancement Committee; additional information on these awards is provided elsewhere on this site.

National awards for lifesaving and meritorious action are made only for outstanding and unusual acts that demonstrate unusual heroism, skill, or bravery and reflect Scouting ideals. Recognition may be given to any member of the Boy Scouts of America, Cub Scout, Boy Scout, Varsity Scout, Venturer, or adult leader. There are two levels of awards - Lifesaving Awards and Meritorious Action Awards.

All applications should be submitted to the National Court of Honor through the local council using Recommendation for Lifesaving or Meritorious Action Award.  The National Court of Honor will determine which type of recognition shall be given. Recipients of these awards must have been registered members of the Boy Scouts of America at the time the action was performed. Awards are made in the name of the Boy Scouts of America.

"A Scout is reverent." All Scouts show this by being faithful in their duty to God. Some go further and give special service. This can qualify them for a religious emblem. Such an emblem is not a Scouting award. It is conferred on a Scout by his religious leader. Each faith has its own requirements for earning its emblem.

A complete listing of religious emblems, including contact information for the organizations that offer them, is available here.

  Valley Forge Office | Rogers S. Firestone Center | 1485 Valley Forge Road | Wayne, PA 19087 |               610-688-6900


Copyright © 2014; Cradle of Liberty Council