COL Mast


Boy Scout Advancement accommodates the three Aims of Scouting: citizenship, growth in moral strength and character, and mental and physical development. It is one of the eight Methods of Scouting.  

There are six ranks:

When a Boy Scout has achieved a rank, it represents that the young man has:

  • Demonstrated living the Scout Oath and Law in his daily life
  • Met the other requirements and/or earned the merit badges for the rank
  • Participated in a Scoutmaster conference
  • Satisfactorily appeared before a board of review

In the advanced ranks (Star, Life, Eagle), the young man has also:

  • Served in a position of responsibility in the troop
  • Performed service to others

Specific requirements for each rank, including alternate requirements for those with special needs, are available on the National website.

  Valley Forge Office | Rogers S. Firestone Center | 1485 Valley Forge Road | Wayne, PA 19087 |               610-688-6900


Copyright © 2016; Cradle of Liberty Council